LibGuides: Library Wayfinding Guide: Books and More

Books and More

The library has a vast physical collection of books, DVD's, kits and more. The collection is organized by the Library of Congress Classification scheme. This tab contains information about where these items can be found, as well as what is indicated by the items' call numbers.

The best way to find one of these physical resources is to search for it in the Millersville University Library catalog.

Note: Chose "Advanced Search" to search by title, subject, or author.

If you're not sure how to search for books in the library catalog, or find them in the library, then watch this video.

Video starts with how to locate physical books using the library website and then takes the viewer into the library to show how to locate the book once a call number is found using the library catalog.
Jump to the Section You Need:
00:28 Beginning your search
01:50 How to exclude some results to reduce the number of items in your search
02:20 Where to look in the item record to see if a book is available
02:30 Finding and reading the call number
05:00 What is virtual browse
05:30 Limiting the search results to a specific location
05:50 Oversized books
06:45 Books in the Archives & Special Collections
08:35 Locating the physical book in the library once you have a call number
11:35 Using the book in the library or checking out the book (loan period for books)
12:45 Using the Directory of Materials Locations to know where different collections are located in the library

Directory of Materials Locations in McNairy Library

Collection	Floor
General Collection Books A 1 - PS 2999	LL1
General Collection Books PS 3000 - QK 9999	6
General Collection Books QL 1 - ZZ 9999	7
DVDs & Videos	1
Juvenile Books & Juvenile Oversized	3
Kits, Manipulatives, Curriculum Textbooks, & Die Cuts	3
Oversized General Collection of Books	7
Reference Collection	1

Library of Congress Call Number Chart

A	Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Indexes, Newspapers, etc.
B	Philosophy, Ethics, Psychology, Theology, etc.
C	History, Archeology, Biography, etc.
D	History of European Nations, etc.
E	History of the United States, Canada, etc.
F	History of Mexico, Latin America, etc.
G	Geography, Oceanography, Ecology, Anthropology, Customs, etc.
H	Social Sciences, Statistics, Economics, Sociology, etc.
J	Legislature, Political Theory, Government, etc.
K	Law, etc.
L	Education, etc.
M	Music, etc.
N	Arts, Architecture, Sculpture, etc.
P	Philology, Languages, Literature, etc.
Q	Science, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, etc.
R	Medicine, etc.
S	Agriculture, etc.
T	Technology, Engineering, Photography, Home Economics, etc.
U	Military Science, etc.
V	Naval Science, etc.
Z	Books, Libraries, Bibliographies, Information.