Skip to Main Content
Search Catalogs of Government Documents and Full-Text Documents
GovInfo.gov This link opens in a new window
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Available publications include bills and statutes, congressional committee materials, executive, judicial, and legislative agency publications, and regulatory information.
MetaLib ( for U.S. Federal Government Resources ) This link opens in a new window
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, including both catalogs of government documents and full-text documents databases. It is most useful for users who aren't sure where to begin their search for government information.
Search Catalogs of Government Documents
The resources listed in this section of the guide are databases of records which describe government documents. Users can search for these documents by author, title, subject, and keyword, but the keyword searches will search the document descriptions, not the full-text of the documents themselves. In some cases, a link to the full-text of the document is provided when the record for that document is retrieved. These resources are most useful in locating documents when the title of the document is known or when you are seeking entire documents on a particular subject. They are also useful in locating older documents, which are often not available online in full-text searchable format.
Catalog of US Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Millersville University Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
The Millersville University Library Catalog includes records describing the physical government documents contained in the library's collection as well as electronic documents selected by the library up to 2009. Links to the full-text of the documents are provided when available.
Library Search This link opens in a new window
Searches government documents as well as nearly all the databases, journals, ebooks, and resources that the library provides. To retrieve government documents only, use the "Databases Searched" limiter on the left of the screen to limit the search to the "Government Printing Office Catalog."
Search Full-Text Government Documents
The resources listed in this section of the guide search the full-text of government documents and government web sites. The information provided tends to have been published relatively recently. These resources are most useful when you are seeking current information and when you are trying to locate discussion of a particular topic which may be contained in a larger government document (e.g. listings of proposed new Medicare regulations contained within the Federal Register).
USA.gov This link opens in a new window
USA.gov is the U.S. government’s official, government-wide, web portal. It provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government including the Congressional Record, Economic Indicators, Coastal Zone Information Center, the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), GAO Reports, Public Papers of the Presidents, Commerce Business Daily and many more.
Finding Legislative Information
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Congress.gov provides information on legislation introduced since 1973 as well as on members of Congress and on congressional committee activities. Access to the Congressional Record and to congressional committee reports is also provided.
US Code : Popular Names of Acts This link opens in a new window
Laws are often referred to by popular names--but sometimes they are not easy to locate using these name. This site will help you translate the popular name into the formal citation information.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation This link opens in a new window
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation consists of a linked set of published congressional records of the United States from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress, 1774-1875. It includes materials related to the proceedings of the Continental Congress, the federal and state conventions related to the framing and adoption of the Constitution, and the proceedings of the House of Representatives and the Senate. It also includes the Statutes at Large for 1789 to 1875; the American State Papers for 1789 to 1838; and congressional bills and resolutions for selected sessions beginning with the 6th Congress (1799) in the House of Representatives and the 16th Congress (1819) in the Senate.
Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
We’re here to help - in person, email, IM/chat, phone, text & personal appointments.
Request It (E-ZBorrow) This link opens in a new window
Using EZB is the fastest way to get a book that Millersville does not have. Items usually arrive within four business days at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
Request It This link opens in a new window
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books, books, and conference proceedings. Look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to request items. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days; books and other physical items typically arrive in 5 business days.
Course Reserves This link opens in a new window
Access items for your course added by your instructor. Books and DVDs can be checked out at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library. Get login help
for course reserves.
McNairy Library • Millersville University • 9 North George St., Millersville, PA 17551 • (717) 871-7111 • Comments? Let us know!
© Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved. Millersville University is an Affirmative Action/ Equal Opportunity Institution. A Member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.