General Education Information Literacy at Millersville University

Students will be able to identify the required elements of APA 7th edition citation style in order to properly format in-text and reference list citations in their assignments. The tutorial includes several “check your understanding” questions with drag and drop exercises where students can format citations of different source types properly.

Use this tutorial to provide students with an overview of the MLA 9th Edition citation style, including both in-text citation format and works cited format. This tutorial provides an explanation and examples of different sources using the container concept introduced in MLA 8, and also includes several “check your understanding” questions with drag and drop exercises where students can format citations of different source types properly.

This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on book citations (see the companion videos for information on journal and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.

This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on journals (see the companion videos for information on book and website citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.

This video is one of three videos on the Chicago Style of citations, focusing on web resources (see the companion videos for information on book and journal citations). It focuses on the note-bibliography style.

This quiz corresponds with the 7th edition APA tutorial.

This quiz corresponds with the MLA 9th edition video and tutorial.

Quiz on materials and multimedia related to Chicago style 17th edition.

Link goes to example assignment provided by University of Texas

An annotated bibliography activity requires students to properly cite a set of sources (which can either be selected by the instructor or by the students) and then produce relevant annotations for each entry. These annotations might focus on the content or argument of a source, source methodology, source credibility, the potential uses of a source in constructing an argument, and more. With an annotated bibliography, the final product on its own addresses several outcomes. However, with well-designed and intentional checkpoints and assessments along the way, it can address all of them to some extent.

Learn how copyright works in relation to intellectual property.

Test out your understanding of copyright, plagiarism, academic integrity, and how all these fit under the idea "information has value."

Brief description of Generative Artificial Intelligence and ethical considerations for college students.

You may have easy access to lots of information, but is it really free and can you really access EVERYTHING? As a researcher, it's important to recognize the resources needed to produce knowledge and understand that information access is not always equal for everyone. Here are some ways to think about the value of information and give credit to the valuable work that you use in your own research.

Inform Your Thinking videos are licensed by Oklahoma State University LIbraraies under a Creative Commons 4.0 CC BY-NC Attribution-Non Commercial license.

Quiz covering information found in Student Guide to AI tutorial.

In a searching demonstration, students show how to search a particular database effectively to meet their information need. They can be given a list of database features and/or search techniques to address or allowed to choose those that best meet their needs. Students can teach the class about their database (live or recorded) or record their search process related to a research project while narrating their choices and thought process.

Assignment example from Ohio State University Libraries