General Education Information Literacy at Millersville University

Determining a manageable research question can be challenging for students. Use this tutorial to introduce strategies for aligning a research focus with assignment guidelines and research tools such as concept maps.

This video will help students understand the process of background research by introducing techniques for gathering background information using Google and Wikipedia.

This video will walk you through how to choose and effectively use keywords to find articles in library databases.

Video from Utah State Libraries. 

Use this video to help students identify the purpose of their research efforts and construct evidence-based statements. Students will learn how to narrow in on a topic, conduct background research, and synthesize the existing body of evidence in order to craft a compelling argument.

This quiz corresponds with the Thesis Statements video.

In a searching demonstration, students show how to search a particular database effectively to meet their information need. They can be given a list of database features and/or search techniques to address or allowed to choose those that best meet their needs. Students can teach the class about their database (live or recorded) or record their search process related to a research project while narrating their choices and thought process.

Assignment example from Ohio State University Libraries

This tutorial will help students master searching library resources such as scholarly databases—starting with choosing keywords, then putting them together to retrieve accurate results.

This tutorial covers: Full-text searching, Field searching, Subject searching and thesaurus, Truncation/wildcards, Limiting your search

This quiz corresponds with the multimedia on search techniques.

In a searching demonstration, students show how to search a particular database effectively to meet their information need. They can be given a list of database features and/or search techniques to address or allowed to choose those that best meet their needs. Students can teach the class about their database (live or recorded) or record their search process related to a research project while narrating their choices and thought process.

Assignment example from Ohio State University Libraries

Link goes to example assignment provided by University of Texas

This tutorial covers: Full-text searching, Field searching, Subject searching and thesaurus, Truncation/wildcards, Limiting your search

This video demonstrates library database features that can help you be more effective in your searches. Ask a Librarian if you have any questions at bit.ly/MUasklib.

This quiz corresponds with the multimedia on search techniques.

In a searching demonstration, students show how to search a particular database effectively to meet their information need. They can be given a list of database features and/or search techniques to address or allowed to choose those that best meet their needs. Students can teach the class about their database (live or recorded) or record their search process related to a research project while narrating their choices and thought process.

Assignment example from Ohio State University Libraries

Questions drive a lot of what we do every day. Sometimes, they're simple. At other times, our experiences lead us to ask more complicated questions that can't be answered so easily and require in-depth research. How do you begin to think about developing and exploring these more complex questions in a world where facts and quick “answers” are just a click away?

Inform Your Thinking videos are licensed by Oklahoma State University Libraries under a Creative Commons 4.0 CC BY-NC Attribution-Non Commercial license. 

This tutorial will walk students through the process of selecting, refining, and expanding their collection of search keywords in order to locate the most relevant information to their research topic.

Use this video to help students navigate the search process. Students will learn techniques to conduct effective background research using multiple keywords in order to narrow in on a research focus.

This quiz corresponds with the multiemdia on keywords.

Link goes to example assignment provided by University of Texas

In a searching demonstration, students show how to search a particular database effectively to meet their information need. They can be given a list of database features and/or search techniques to address or allowed to choose those that best meet their needs. Students can teach the class about their database (live or recorded) or record their search process related to a research project while narrating their choices and thought process.

Assignment example from Ohio State University Libraries