MU Archives & Special Collections Online Exhibit

Books

• Every Tongue Got to Confess C by Zora Neale Hurston; Carla Kaplan (Editor); John Edgar Wideman (Foreword by)

  Call Number: Special Collections -- Rare Books -- LC Z1033.A84 W66 H87x 2001

  ISBN: 0060188936

  Publication Date: 2001
• In Search of Nella Larsen by George Hutchinson

  Call Number: PS3523.A7225 Z69 2006

  ISBN: 0674021800

  Publication Date: 2006
• The Lithographs of Prentiss Taylor by Ingrid Rose (Editor); Roderick S. Quiroz

  Call Number: Special Collections -- Rare Books -- LC Z1033.A84 V36 T39x 1996

  ISBN: 0823216721

  Publication Date: 1996

Related Research Guides

• African American Studies
  by Michele Santamaria Last Updated Nov 7, 2024 26 views this year

• Anti-Racism Resources
  by Kim Auger Last Updated Feb 8, 2024 162 views this year

• History
  by Frank Vitale Last Updated Nov 7, 2024 2046 views this year

Photographs--Originals held by Millersville University Archives & Special Collections

Countee Cullen

Photograph by Carl Van Vechten, 1946.  

Nora
Holt

Photograph by Carl Van Vechten, 1932.

James Weldon Johnson

Photograph by Carl Van Vechten, 1932.

Zora Neale Hurston

Photograph by Carl Van Vechten, 1935.

Langston Hughes

Photograph by Cal Van Vechten, 1936.

Ella Fitzgerald

Photograph by Carl Van Vechten, 1940. 

Chester Himes

Photograph by Carl Van Vechten, 1946. 

Billie
Holiday

Photograph by Carl Van Vechten, 1949.

Books

• Color by Countee Cullen

  Call Number: PS3505.U287 C6 1925

  Publication Date: 1925
• Harlem Renaissance by Nathan Irvin Huggins

  Call Number: Special Collections -- Rare Books -- LC Z1033.A84 V36 H828x 1971

  Publication Date: 1971

  Also available as an e-Book.
• If He Hollers Let Him Go by Chester B. Himes

  Call Number: Special Collections -- Rare Books -- LC Z1033.A84 V36 H558x 1945

  Publication Date: 1945
• Quicksand by Nella Larsen

  Call Number: Special Collections -- Rare Books -- LC Z1033.A84 V36 L373x 1928

  Publication Date: 1928
• Scottsboro Limited by Langston Hughes, with illustrations by Prentiss Taylor

  Call Number: Special Collections -- Rare Books -- LC Z1033.A84 V36 H839x 1932

  Publication Date: 1932
• Shakespeare in Harlem by Langston Hughes, with drawings by E. McKnight Kauffer

  Call Number: PS3515.U274 S5

  Publication Date: 1942
• The Black Christ & Other Poems by Countee Cullen, with decorations by Charles Cullen

  Call Number: PS3505.U287 B6 1929

  Publication Date: 1929
• The New Negro: An Interpretation by edited by Alain Locke; book decoration and portraits by Winold Reiss

  Call Number: Special Collections -- Rare Books -- LC Z1033.A84 V36 N49x 1925

  Publication Date: 1925
• The Story of the American Negro by Ina Corinne Brown

  Call Number: Special Collections -- Rare Books -- LC Z1033.A84 V36 B76x 1936

  Publication Date: 1936
• Women Builders by Saide Iola Daniel

  Call Number: Special Collections -- Rare Books -- LC Z1033.A84 V36 D36x 1931

  Publication Date: 1931

• Next: Poetry >>

McNairy Library • Millersville University • 9 North George St., Millersville, PA 17551 • (717) 871-7111 • Comments? Let us know!

© Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved. Millersville University is an Affirmative Action/ Equal Opportunity Institution. A Member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.