The Carl Van Vechten Photographs Collection at the Library of Congress consists of 1,395 photographs taken by American photographer Carl Van Vechten (1880-1964) between 1932 and 1964. The bulk of the collection consists of portrait photographs of celebrities, including many figures from the Harlem Renaissance. A much smaller portion of the collection is an assortment of American landscapes.
"African-American expressions of writing, music, and art during the 1920s and 1930s are well represented in the vast collections of the Library of Congress. This guide presents the Library's resources as well as links to external Web sites on the Harlem Renaissance and a bibliography."
ARTstor is the ultimate image collection, containing hundreds of thousands of images covering art, architecture, archeology, and history. Useful for research not only in the arts, but in social history, sociology, and history.
A collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies. Find biographies of interest by searching or browsing 30+ genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, current world leaders and many others.
A scholarly encyclopedic resource covering all aspects of art; along with biographical information. Includes Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Includes thousands of images and full-text articles from an array of journals, books and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Includes full text from 630+ journals; 220+ books; and 63,000+ images.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides indexing of 3,100+ academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Chicago Manual of Style (Chicago)
Chicago, IL : University of Chicago Press, 2017. 17th ed.
Useful to students who need to know recommended forms for presenting bibliographies, footnotes, tables, and figures. Accessibility:Reserve -- Z 253 .U69 2017 ( 4 Hour Circulation )
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books and conference proceedings. Or look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to Request It. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days.