It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find current and historical information regarding legislative activity in Congress. Includes: bills, the Congressional Record, Congressional Advisory Board Reports, the legislative process, Congressional Internet sites, etc.
HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
Policy Map Quick Start Video
The quick start video will walk users through the basic tools of this database, how to make a map, as well as customizing data layers and points.
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services.
Provides access to the the full breadth of Federal statistical information without having to know which Federal agency to search. Covers: economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, energy, farm production, and more.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Covers 42 major U.S. industries and 10 international industries - analyzing operations, highlighting current problems and opportunities and giving valuable insights into upcoming trends. Each industry profile contains information about the current environment, an industry profile, how the industry operates, key ratios and statistics, how to analyze a company, comparative company analysis.
The SEC’s EDGAR database provides free public access to AS REPORTED corporate financial information. All public companies (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR.
The vast majority of ICPSR data holdings are public-use files with no restrictions on their access. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
<> PollingReport tracks U.S. Senate and gubernatorial races, hot U.S. House contests, the presidential race, ballot initiatives and referenda, and major issues.
<> New surveys are added as they are released. Data are from primary sources only -- not from wire stories, blogs or tip sheets.
<> Portions of most polls are freely accessible, some data requires a subscription.
Access the full-text for more than 400 newspapers and other sources. Includes: USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Times (London); plus transcripts from CNN, National Public Radio, CBS News, Fox News, CNBC, etc.
From the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. Use this tool to create customized reports for research relating to equity in athletics data. The data are drawn from the OPE Equity in Athletics Disclosure Website database, which consists of athletics data submitted annually as required by the Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act (EADA), by all co-educational postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs) and that have an intercollegiate athletics program.
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books, books, and conference proceedings. Look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to request items. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days; books and other physical items typically arrive in 5 business days.
History of the impact of digital technology on reporting, photojournalism, graphics, and other disciplines that define interactive journalism. An eyewitness study of the field's evolution and accomplishments ranges from the interactive creation of Al Jazeera English to the celebrated data desk at the Guardian to the New York Times' Pulitzer-endowed efforts in the new field.
Privacy and the Media equips students to do just that, providing a comprehensive overview of both the theory and reality of privacy and the media in the 21st Century. Offering a rich overview of this crucial and topical relationship, Andy McStay: • Explores the foundational topics of journalism, the Snowden leaks, and encryption by companies such as Apple • Considers commercial applications including behavioural advertising, big data, algorithms, and the role of platforms such as Google and Facebook • Introduces the role of the body with discussions of emotion, wearable media, peer-based privacy, and sexting • Encourages students to put their understanding to work with suggestions for further research, challenging them to explore how privacy functions in practice.
provides a demographic and socioeconomic profile of the Millennial generation, which spanned the ages of 20 to 37 in 2014, and it includes a special supplement on the iGeneration—the population under age 20.