Home - FYEX 100 - To Infinity and Beyond - LibGuides at Millersville University of Pennsylvania

First Year Experience - Information Literacy

Information literacy consists of FIVE abilities and associated skills. FYEX courses will typically focus on four of those abilities.

Source Exploration : Identify the most appropriate sources and information to meet the scope of need.
Strategic Searching : Create, execute, and refine search strategies with iteration utilizing search outcomes to find relevant sources and information. 
Source Evaluation : Evaluate the credibility of sources to critically select and interpret information relevant to the need. 
Synthesis : Contextualize and synthesize selected information to engage in ongoing scholarship and communities of learning and/or practice. 
Source Attribution : Contribute to ongoing scholarship and communities of learning and/or practice through ethical reflection, proper attribution, and respect of intellectual property.

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Revised every two years, the Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations. From the U.S. Department of Labor.
O*Net Resource Center ( Occupational Information Network ) This link opens in a new window
The O*NET database, contains information on hundreds of standardized and occupation-specific descriptors. The database is continually updated by surveying a broad range of workers from each occupation.
US Dept of Labor : Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new window
Provides recent labor and financial demographics, including regional Economic Indicators, Consumer Price Index, and the Monthly Labor Review.

Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test This link opens in a new window
The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on your situation or need.

Regardless of where you are getting your information, you need to be aware of a few simple attributes about whatever information you are using.

When evaluating information, here are five helpful considerations:

Currency: timeliness of the information.

Relevance: importance of the information for your need.

Authority: source of the information.

Accuracy: reliability, truthfulness, correctness.

Purpose: reason that the information exists.

Email Me

Contact:

McNairy 206

717-871-7120

Subjects: Emergency Management, Psychology

Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
We’re here to help - in person, email, IM/chat, phone, text & personal appointments.
Request It (E-ZBorrow) This link opens in a new window
Using EZB is the fastest way to get a book that Millersville does not have. Items usually arrive within four business days at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
Request It This link opens in a new window
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books, books, and conference proceedings. Look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to request items. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days; books and other physical items typically arrive in 5 business days.
Course Reserves This link opens in a new window
Access items for your course added by your instructor. Books and DVDs can be checked out at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
Journals by Name ( title search or browse by discipline ) This link opens in a new window