K-12 Level Databases - ERCH 225 - Foundations of Reading - LibGuides at Millersville University of Pennsylvania

MU databases with K-12 level resources

The content of the following databases is designed to be used by teachers or students in K-12 settings. Articles and other resources are written for a K-12 audience.

Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Primary Search contains full text for 80+ popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals; the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids; the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
MAS Ultra : School Edition This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries, provides access to popular, general interest, and current events publications. Every full-text article is assigned a Lexile reading level indicator.

POWER Library

POWER Library
Resources available with a Pennsylvania public library card including newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks.
POWER Library eCard Sign up
Don't have a public library card? Sign up for an eCard to access the online resources.

General E-Resources

DIY: Auto Repair Source, Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Biography: AP Images, Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors, LitFinder
Business: Business Insights: Essentials, Pennsylvania Job Resources
General Reference: Books & Authors, Gale E-Books, General OneFile
Find a Book: BookFlix, Books & Authors, E-Books (EBSCO), AccessPA Catalog, TrueFlix
Health/Sciences: Academic OneFile, General OneFile, Health & Wellness Resource Center, GreenFILE, Science Reference Center
Literature: BookFlix, Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors, E-Books (EBSCO), LitFinder
Newspapers/Magazines: AP Images, Gale OneFile: News
Spanish-Language: Informe Academico, BookFlix
PA Photos and Documents: Digitized collections

E-Resources by grade level

Elementary Research: BookFlix, CyberSmarts, Kids InfoBits, TrueFLIX
Middle School Research: AP Images, Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors, E-Books (EBSCO), Gale E-Books, Gale in Context: Environmental Studies, Gale OneFile: News, InfoTrac Student Edition, LitFinder, Research in Context, Science Reference Center, TrueFLIX
High School Research: Academic OneFile, AP Images, Contemporary Authors, E-Books (EBSCO), Gale in Context: Environmental Studies, InfoTrac Student Edition, Power Search, Science Reference Center
College Resources: Academic OneFile, Academic Search Main Edition, Gale in Context: Environmental Studies, Pennsylvania Job Resources
Teacher Resources: Educator's Reference Complete, LISTA, Teacher Reference Center

Library System of Lancaster County

Youth Services

Teacher Book Bundles

1000 Books Before Kindergarten

Tumblebooks

Pennsylvania One Book, Families Reading Together

Cruise into Kindergarten

Summer Reading Program

Autism Resource Center

Make 717 and Museum Passes

Library Cards

Free Library Card (Philadelphia)
"A Free Library card is available at no cost to anyone who lives, works, pays taxes, or goes to school in the City of Philadelphia. In addition, anyone who lives in the state of Pennsylvania can obtain a Free Library card without charge."
Lancaster Public Library
"A library card for the Lancaster Public Library will be issued without charge to any resident of Lancaster County who is five years old or more...Non-residents of Lancaster County should see the librarian to obtain a card."
POWER Library eCard Sign up
Don't have a public library card? Sign up for an eCard to access the online resources.

ERCH 225 - Foundations of Reading: K-12 Level Databases

MU databases with K-12 level resources

POWER Library

Library System of Lancaster County

Library Cards