Home - COMM 451 - Public Relations Issues and Cases - LibGuides at Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Institute for Public Relations - Research Library

This is not a library resource.

This "Research Library" is maintained by the Institute for Public Relations

IPR Research Library
This research library is a database of all the public relations research conducted by the Institute for Public Relations (IPR) segmented by topic area.

Library Search

1. When using "Library Search" for this assignment start with "Advanced Search"

At the "Advanced Search" screen use these limits to meet the specific needs of this assignment. I recommend limiting the discipline to one or two of these four to get started. You can always expand or narrow your search.

Business & Management
Communication & Mass Media
Marketing
Psychology

2. Limit the search to English Language

3. Try searching the concept “public relations” AND (field of your organization)

Without these limits to your search you will have to wade through too many articles that will not meet your needs in order to find one that does.

Library Search This link opens in a new window
Search nearly all the databases, journals, ebooks and resources that the library provides. Millions of scholarly articles, trade publications, popular magazine, books, book chapters, video clips, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations are represented in Library Search.

Communication Related Databases

Communication Source (inclusive of Communication and Mass Media Complete) This link opens in a new window
Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource for communication research. Communication Source includes Communication and Mass Media Complete, Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage) and includes many unique sources in the field of communications. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline. Indexing for most major journals is from the publication's first issue to the present.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The largest and most in-depth business research database available. Contains scholarly research, trade publications, and industry news and reports. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports, peer reviewed scholarship from more than 2000 journals available in full text, SWOT analysis and thousands of trade publications. Coverage begins in 1886 (yes, 1886).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier research tool for psychology and related disciplines (education, sociology, nursing, etc.). Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Full text resource that focuses on traditional engineering challenges & research, computing technology, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. Provides content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories, conference proceedings and more.

News Sources via Databases

News Sources via Databases

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Access the full-text for more than 400 newspapers and other sources. Includes: USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Times (London); plus transcripts from CNN, National Public Radio, CBS News, Fox News, CNBC, etc.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of nearly 100 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States and parts of Canada.
US Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new window
US Major Daily Newspapers provides indexing to and the full text of the following nationally oriented newspapers:
Chicago Tribune ( Full Text: 1996 - Present; Citations/Abstracts: 1989 - Present )
Los Angeles Times ( 1985 - Present )
New York Times ( 1980 - Present )
Wall Street Journal ( 1984 - Present )
Washington Post ( 1987 - Present )
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream searches current US news content, and archives back into the 1980s. Features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.

Regional & Local News Sources via Databases

Regional & Local News Articles

Lancaster Newspapers ( various titles, includes Sat and Sun Editions, Jan 1, 1995 - Present ) This link opens in a new window
Searchable by newspaper title / time period of publication, six Lancaster County focused newspapers are available in full text.

Millersville University
Access to articles from the Millersville University Snapper (2008 - Current).
Central Pennsylvania / Harrisburg
News articles and community information for Central Pennsylvania from the Harrisburg Patriot News (2007 - Current).
Philadelphia
Local and state-wide news from the Philadelphia Inquirer and the Philadelphia Daily News (2008 - Current).