Performance at Colorado Fine & Performing Arts Center
Copyright and Fair Use
The websites listed in this guide are for reference and research purposes only.
Usage guidelines vary widely by resource. Some images and sounds are open-access and free to use, while others may require a licensing fee. It is every student’s ethical responsibility to evaluate the usage guidelines when choosing to reproduce any image to avoid copyright violation.
Respect the intellectual property of others and use your best judgment when deciding to reproduce an image, and always credit your source!
Academic streaming video clips from a range of subject areas including Biological Sciences, Oceanography, History, Philosophy, Psychology, Political Science, Sociology, Health, and Environmental Studies.
Faculty : request a film for course use from a catalog of 26,000+ feature, documentary and independent films. Please include on the form the COURSE and the DATE by when you would like the film. Films are licensed for a year from the date of order. Please allow at least 10 business days for the film to become accessible.
20,000 fashion and costume terms, & includes more than 300 illustrations. The first section of the book is an alphabetical listing of these words with their definitions, period, and country of origin. This volume also contains appendixes that list the terms by country of origin, period, and type of clothing. The book is not limited to the Western World and includes both archaic and current terms.
Earliest record of fashion to the 21st century.
Digital Costume Design and Collaboration gives in-depth instruction on how to draw, render, and fully design costumes using online tools and software. Grounded in the use of Photoshop, the book explains the process of building a costume design from scratch, including information on digital tools and painting techniques. The book demonstrates how to utilize social media, such as Flickr and Pinterest, to compile research; how to create user-friendly web based slide shows; and how to archive digital files for portfolios and personal websites. It also demonstrates how to organize spec sheets, plots and inventories using Google Docs for easy editing and Dropbox for easy file sharing. A companion YouTube channel featuring video tutorials of exercises and applications compliments the book.
It includes sections on Greek plays, medieval miracles and mysteries, Shakespeare, 17th-century, 18th-century, Victorian and Edwardian costume. each section covers the details of men's and women's clothes and accessories, as well as methods for adapting and simplifying the style of the period. this basic introduction offers practical advice for every kind of play, together with drawings, diagrams and patterns from which to work.
Patterns for the most important garments worn by men between the 16th and 19th centuries. Introductions to each section describe the major developments in men's dress - revealing how garments evolved. Includes patterns for the most important non-fashionable garments(worn from the 16th to the 19th centuries) plus clothes in vogue from the middle of the 16th to the end of the 18th centuries.
A three-volume survey of clothing, costume and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
Uses archaeological understandings of clothing to shed light on some of the fundamental aspects of society. Dress and Society illustrates the range of current archaeological approaches to dress using a number of case studies drawn from prehistoric to post-medieval Europe
Dress and fashion are powerful visual means of communicating ideology, whether political, social or religious. From the communist values of equality, simplicity and solidarity exemplified in the Mao suit to the myriad of fashion protests of feminists such as French revolutionary women's demand to wear trousers, dress can symbolize ideological orthodoxy as well as revolt. Chapters are organized thematically and explore dress in relation to topics including nation, identity, religion, politics and utopias, across an impressive chronological reach from antiquity to the present day.
Flaunting examines male style as a visual form of subversion against the norms of Renaissance England with the stage as the primary source of inspiration for collective identification.A glimpse into both the celebration of and opposition to social irreverence in the early modern period, Flaunting is a fascinating historical account of drama, fashion, and rebellion with surprisingly close parallels to the contemporary world.
Crossings in Text and Textile explores the diverse range of transatlantic representations of clothing in nineteenth- and early twentieth-century literature. This collection of essays demonstrates that fashion history and literary history, when examined together, prompt fresh understandings of the complexities of race, class, and sexual identity.
Part of the Behind the Silver Screen series. Costume, Makeup, and Hair charts the development of these three crafts in the American film industry from the 1890s to the present. Each chapter examines a different era in film history, revealing how the arts of cinematic costume, makeup, and hair, have continually adapted to new conditions, making the transitions from stage to screen, from monochrome to color, and from analog to digital.
The Hero's Closet is the ultimate DIY guide to creating unique and fantastical homemade costumes This essential handbook offers detailed, step-by-step instructions that cover the basics of sewing costumes (which often require skills not found in standard sewing guides) to help even the most novice sewists create the costumes of their dreams. Walks readers through finding inspiration online and through their fandom; shares insight into translating character art into real-world garments; and offers advice on pattern selection, alterations, fabrics, and embellishment techniques.
Includes thousands of images and full-text articles from an array of journals, books and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Includes full text from 630+ journals; 220+ books; and 63,000+ images.
ARTstor is the ultimate image collection, containing hundreds of thousands of images covering art, architecture, archeology, and history. Useful for research not only in the arts, but in social history, sociology, and history.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture contains 1100+ entries on the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field - from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.
Contains 3,000+ entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. Includes entries on the qualities and historical uses of materials, concise definitions on art forms and styles, and in-depth articles discussing the history of armor, jewelry, furniture, textiles, and ceramics.
A scholarly encyclopedic resource covering all aspects of art; along with biographical information. Includes Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Shorpy.com | History in HD is a vintage photo archive featuring thousands of high-definition images from the 1850s to 1960s. This is a for profit site. Their goal is to sell pictures. However, for the purposes of this class you may find inspiration in the photos for your designs.
This online presentation includes items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, photographs, posters, playbills, programs, and playscripts, including productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and Power, a topical drama of the period. Selected administrative documents from the project are also available. There are approximately 525,000 items.