Skip to main content

Theatre: Evaluating & Citing Resources

The contents of this guide are intended to support the students taking theatre or entertainment tech courses

Video - Using the C.R.A.A.P. Test to evaluate web resources (5:00 min)

This video demonstrates the C.R.A.A.P. Test "in action". Follow along as the librarian evaluates websites on the topic of performance enhanicng drugs in sports.

Video - Citation, a very brief introduction (1:52 min)

MLA Citation Resources

The MLA Handbook is the resource you will need when formatting your in in-text citations and your Works Cited page. It is available at the library circulation desk, in the Reserve section.

Understanding Plagiarism (3:58m)

MLA Citation Style

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

MLA handbook, Eighth edition, The Modern Language Association of America, 2016.
Contains guidelines for doing research, giving citations, and preparing bibliographies.
Location: Reserve - Permanent LB2369 .G53 2016 ( at Reserves behind circulation desk ) 

APA Citation Style

Chicago Citation Style

Chicago Manual of Style (Chicago)
Chicago, IL : University of Chicago Press, 2017. 17th ed.
Useful to students who need to know recommended forms for presenting bibliographies, footnotes, tables, and figures.
Accessibility: Reserve -- Z 253 .U69 2017 ( 4 Hour Circulation )

Citation Generation Websites

These citation generators can make it easier to generate bibliographies. It is always possible that the generator can make a mistake. It is your responsibility to check what is generated against the rules in  the MLA Handbook, the APA Manual, or The Chicago Manual of Style. The books are available in Reserves at the McNairy Library Circulation Desk.

**If you are using an article from one of the databases, the databases often have citation generation capability. Their accuracy is getting much better but they do sometimes make mistakes with capitalization. 

 

McNairy Library • Millersville University9 North George St., Millersville, PA 17551 • (717) 871-7111 • Comments? Let us know!

© Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved. Millersville University is an Affirmative Action/ Equal Opportunity Institution. A Member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.