It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ART 295 - Ceramics : Hand Building: Home
Historical Ceramics Project - Bronze Age
Project : Choose a ceramic vessel from the Bronze Age and remake that piece in a contemporary context.
Changes : Alter the form, scale, texture, content, etc. for a piece from between 3300BCE to 600BCE.
Examples : Examples may include Greek Amphora pots, Chinese pottery from multiple dynasties, and Mycenaean works. Be aware of the different utilitarian uses for these vessels, any political messages (Greek) and how and why drawings were used during any particular time period.
The more you know and learn about your topic of interest, the more likely your questions and approach to the topic will change; thus requiring you to do some more research with a better formulated or slightly different question or point of view.
Focusing on and obtaining a solid understanding of precisely what it is that you're trying to learn about is important.
Get a good start with a basic overview of the concepts involved with your research.
A scholarly encyclopedic resource covering all aspects of art; along with biographical information. Includes Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Contains 3,000+ entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. Includes entries on the qualities and historical uses of materials, concise definitions on art forms and styles, and in-depth articles discussing the history of armor, jewelry, furniture, textiles, and ceramics.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art offers the most comprehensive information on all aspects of this area of the visual arts. Provides historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
Identifying Examples of Coil Pots - 2000BCE to mid 14th Century
Keywords: pot, pottery, ceramics, bowl
Time Period: 3300BCE to 600BCE encompasses the "Bronze Age" most liberally throughout the world. The Bronze Age started as early as 3300BCE in some places, and ended as late as 600BCE in other places. Use the date range / slider in ARTstor to limit by date.
ARTstor is the ultimate image collection, containing hundreds of thousands of images covering art, architecture, archeology, and history. Useful for research not only in the arts, but in social history, sociology, and history.
Includes thousands of images and full-text articles from an array of journals, books and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers. Includes full text from 630+ journals; 220+ books; and 63,000+ images.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides indexing of 3,100+ academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books and conference proceedings. Or look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to Request It. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days.