Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background Information and Citation Sources for Education Topics
"CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students." ~ from publisher
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Foundations of Education ( SRO )
More than any other field in education, the social and cultural foundations of education reflect many of the conflicts, tensions, and forces in American society. This is hardly surprising, since the area focuses on issues such as race, gender, socioeconomic class, the impact of technology on learning, what it means to be educated, and the role of teaching and learning in a societal context.The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. With more than 400 entries, the three volumes of this indispensable resource offer a thorough and interdisciplinary view of the field for all those interested in issues involving schools and society.
Encyclopedia of African American Education
"Each topic in this 2-volume encyclopedia is discussed as it relates to the education of African Americans. The entries provide a comprehensive overview of educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically and predominantly Black colleges and universities.
The encyclopedia follows the struggle of African Americans to achieve equality in education—beginning among an enslaved population and evolving into the present—as the efforts of many remarkable individuals furthered this cause through court decisions and legislation. A unique appendix, “The Complete Bibliography of the Journal of Negro Education, 1932-2008,” includes listings of the tables of contents and reprinted articles on segregation, desegregation, and equality." ~ from publisher
Finding Articles from Published Journals
The following links will open databases that Millersville University Library subscribes to. Each database contains some unique content, but there will also be some overlap. The Education Research Complete and ERIC databases allow you to search across scholarly journals and trade magazines specific to the discipline of Education. The Academic Search Complete database allows you to search across journals and magazines from a broad spectrum of discipline-specific and general interest literature. It would be a good place to look for articles from news publication, journals in fields such as history, sociology, law, and government studies that may cover education policy topics from a different perspective.
Academic Search Ultimate (previously Complete)
Full-text access to thousands of popular and scholarly sources. A "goto" database for any subject.
Education Source (including Education Research Complete)
Full text resource covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. Includes the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, and encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC ( Education Resources Information Center )
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index; journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference reports, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
LISTA provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes nearly 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s.
The premier research tool for psychology and related disciplines (education, sociology, nursing, etc.). Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
Provides extensive coverage of sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, political science and related topics. Provides abstracts for 1,300+ "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, also provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing of books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included, and searchable cited references are provided.
SPORTDiscus is an international database containing information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
Ask a Librarian
We’re here to help - in person, email, IM/chat, phone, text & personal appointments.
Request It (E-ZBorrow)
The fastest way to get a book that Millersville does not have. Items usually arrive within 4 business days at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books and conference proceedings. Or look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to Request It. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days.
Access items for your course added by your instructor. Books and DVDs can be checked out at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library. Get login help
for course reserves.
McNairy Library • Millersville University • 9 North George St., Millersville, PA 17551 • (717) 871-7111 • Comments? Let us know!
© Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved. Millersville University is an Affirmative Action/ Equal Opportunity Institution. A Member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.