Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Strategy 1: Discover MU Archives & Special Collections
Research Strategy 2: Find Background Info in Books
Search for books with preview available feature. For instance, type "Ganawese" in Google Books search box, click on Search Tools>Any Books>Preview Available
Search a global catalog of library collections to find a book that you could request via inter-library loan.
Search nearly all the databases, journals, ebooks and resources that the library provides. Millions of scholarly articles, trade publications, popular magazine, books, book chapters, video clips, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations are represented in Library Search.
Research Strategy 3: Explore Digital Collections & Organizations
Discover resources below and fine new ones by searching Google and adding "digital collections" to your research topics.
Primary source materials in American history. Discover eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records through electronic versions of historical newspapers and books.
Early American Imprints, Series I : Evans, 1639 - 1800
Full text of books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints. With subjects ranging from captivity narratives to playbills to atlases to sermons to juvenile literature, this collection provides information about all aspects of American life and culture in the 17th and 18th centuries.
Research Strategy 4: Find Articles
America History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR Journal Archive
A full-text archive of over 1,000 of the best scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, mathematics, life sciences, etc. Full-text is available from the first issue, but does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
Human Relations Area File - World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Research Strategy 5: Talk to People
Research Strategy 6: Find Research Aids and Guides
McNairy Library • Millersville University • 9 North George St., Millersville, PA 17551 • (717) 871-7111 • Comments? Let us know!
© Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved. Millersville University is an Affirmative Action/ Equal Opportunity Institution. A Member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.