It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNIV 103 - Leadership Development Through Sports - Nesbitt: Home
Today's Objectives / Thinking Points
1. Identify what makes information about a topic useful to you.
2. Defining your topic in some context that makes sense to you.
3. Finding additional quality information and research that you can use for your paper.
Having a firm sense of what your topic is and what you want to do with it are important for focusing your inquiry.
It's OK to start without any real notions of exactly what you want to do; but the general abundance of information and commentary available on most topics will force you to focus your inquiry into the form of a single question or desired outcome to make the entire process manageable.
In three steps:
What interests you? Pair your topic to an area or idea of interest.
Getting a basic understanding of your topic and how it could fit with an interest.
Focusing the topic with your interest in such a way that success is feasible within any given parameters.
Suggestions for learning about the Social Change Model of Leadership
There are "general" academic research tools that focus on the "better/best" publications across a number of disciplines and subject areas; and then there are "discipline" or "subject" focused research tools that strive to be as encompassing of all publications, reports, etc. that are available in a given field like Education or Sports Management.
Just about every major area of study has a particular research tool(s) that you'll become familiar with as your academic career progresses and you focus on a particular area/program of study.
Full text resource covers scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Includes the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals. Includes international English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—including all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
SPORTDiscus is an international database containing information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
A self-paced tutorial with excellent practical advice and examples.
This tutorial describes:
Three ways to use source material: quote it, paraphrase it, or summarize it
Three essential techniques for managing source materials: introduce it, cite it, and list a reference to it
Eight important guidelines to help you avoid plagiarism mistakes
Provides an overview of plagiarism and an interactive tutorial on how to avoid it. Also includes tips on appropriate paraphrasing.
How to Write a Research Paper
Writing an effective research paper starts with knowing what type of paper you are writing.
The goal of a research paper is not to inform the reader what others have to say about a topic, but to draw on what others have to say about a topic and engage the sources in order to thoughtfully offer a unique perspective on the issue at hand. This is accomplished through two major types of research papers.
The argumentative research paper consists of an introduction in which the writer clearly introduces the topic and informs his audience exactly which stance he intends to take; this stance is often identified as the thesis statement. An important goal of the argumentative research paper is persuasion, which means the topic chosen should be debatable or controversial.
The analytical research paper often begins with the student asking a question (a.k.a. a research question) on which he has taken no stance. Such a paper is often an exercise in exploration and evaluation.
Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2009. 6th ed.
Written as a guide for contributors to A.P.A. journals, this is also useful to students who need to know recommended forms for presenting bibliographies, footnotes, tables, and figures.
Accessibility: Reserve -- BF76.7 .P83x 2009 ( 4 Hour Circulation )
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books and conference proceedings. Or look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to Request It. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days.