It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGL 316 - Business Writing ( Skucek ): Home
Regardless of where you are getting your information, you need to be aware of a few simple attributes about whatever information you are using.
When evaluating information, here are five helpful considerations:
Currency: timeliness of the information.
Relevance: importance of the information for your need.
Primary resources are the raw data, interviews, conversations, correspondence, reports, original documents that you collect directly from other people or organizations related to your project. Informational items that haven't been extensively interpreted by another person.
Secondary resources are scholarly journal articles, popular press or trade publication articles, books, data that has been extensively manipulated or normalized for presentation. Secondary sources have typically been interpreted or narrated or contextualized by the author. While still very helpful, they are one step (thus secondary) removed from the actual event or occurence.
Keywords are decent words to start with; but can consume much more time than is necessary. All disciplines or areas of study typically have some coherency and generally agreed upon terminology for how ideas and concepts should be identified. Disciplines that have their own unique vocabulary of meanings and concepts usually explain and expose that terminology through a Thesaurus.
This vocabulary of disclipine specific terminology is frequently called a Thesaurus or Subject Terms. Think of them as "tags" that help you get from lots of results with stuff that you don't want, to a manageable set of results focusing on the concepts that you are really after. A thesaurus will frequently include a definition of what is meant by the term and include suggestions and other related terminology. A thesaurus saves you time and improves the results that you obtain by focusing on the CONCEPT and not just the word.
Odds are you're going to find something; and probably too much. Make use of the limiting and narrowing functionality in any research database to include exclude specific kinds of attributes of information (publication year, language, type of publications, etc.). Just like shopping on Amazon.
The largest and most in-depth business research database available. Contains scholarly research, trade publications, and industry news and reports. Includes books, case studies, company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports, peer reviewed scholarship from more than 2000 journals available in full text, SWOT analysis and thousands of trade publications. Coverage begins in 1886 (yes, 1886).
Full text resource covers scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Includes the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals. Includes international English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—including all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Provides extensive coverage of sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, political science and related topics. Provides abstracts for 1,300+ "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, also provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing of books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included, and searchable cited references are provided.
SPORTDiscus is an international database containing information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
Includes industry financial reports, industry market reports at both the national and regional level, competitive market analysis, and for retail establishments a sales per square foot report and analysis tool. All reports and analysis can be conducted across thousands of different lines of business most readily by 2-4-6 digit NAICS number.
The vast majority of ICPSR data holdings are public-use files with no restrictions on their access. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
<> PollingReport tracks U.S. Senate and gubernatorial races, hot U.S. House contests, the presidential race, ballot initiatives and referenda, and major issues.
<> New surveys are added as they are released. Data are from primary sources only -- not from wire stories, blogs or tip sheets.
<> Portions of most polls are freely accessible, some data requires a subscription.
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2009. 6th ed.
Written as a guide for contributors to A.P.A. journals, this is also useful to students who need to know recommended forms for presenting bibliographies, footnotes, tables, and figures.
Accessibility: Reserve -- BF76.7 .P83x 2009 ( 4 Hour Circulation )
MLA handbook, Eighth edition, The Modern Language Association of America, 2016. Contains guidelines for doing research, giving citations, and preparing bibliographies.
Location: Reserve - Permanent LB2369 .G53 2016 ( at Reserves behind circulation desk )
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books and conference proceedings. Or look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to Request It. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days.