Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Ultimate (previously Complete)
General database of popular and scholarly materials (1887 - Current). Try using the keywords "women", "gender", or "feminism" to get better results.
America History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Full-text database for ethnic or minority newspapers, magazines, and journals (1959 - Present). Be sure to include the keywords "women", "gender", or "sexuality" in your search.
Gender Studies Database
The Gender Studies Database is a full-text collection of more than 500 publications including journals, books, magazines, newsletters, dissertations, special reports, working papers and conference proceedings. Coverage for a quarter of the publications included starts prior to 1970. GSD combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies databases with relevant contributions from the Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. Links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the web are included where available.
GenderWatch is a full-text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. Also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles in the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure.
JSTOR Journal Archive
Full-text database for scholarly articles (1655 - 2009). Use the "narrow by discipline" option on the main search screen to limit your results to "Feminist and Women's Studies".
Full text access to peer-reviewed psychology articles (1894 - Current). Use the "Classification Code" option on the main search screen to narrow your results to #2970, "Sex Roles and Women's Issues" or #2980, "Sexual Behavior and Sexual Orientation."
Readers Guide Retrospective ( 1890 - 1982 )
Readers’ Guide Retrospective covers the popular press and offers full coverage of the original paper volumes for nearly 100 years.
Provides extensive coverage of sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, political science and related topics. Provides abstracts for 1,300+ "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, also provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing of books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included, and searchable cited references are provided.
Finding Books & Video
Millersville University Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to find physical books, some eBooks, children's literature, physical journals, and DVDs.
Over 20,000 full-text e-books. Narrow down your search by including the keywords "women", "gender", "feminism", or "sexuality" in your search.
Kanopy Video Streaming Service
Faculty : request a film for course use from a catalog of 26,000+ feature, documentary and independent films. Please include on the form the COURSE and the DATE by when you would like the film. Films are licensed for a year from the date of order. Please allow at least 10 business days for the film to become accessible.
Citing and Evaluating Sources
A free, online citation generator. Enter the information about your source and create a citation for your bibliography in APA, MLA, or Chicago.
McNairy Library • Millersville University • 9 North George St., Millersville, PA 17551 • (717) 871-7111 • Comments? Let us know!
© Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved. Millersville University is an Affirmative Action/ Equal Opportunity Institution. A Member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.