Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You've got this and we've got your back!
If you are just getting started with research and using our databases, the videos and links below will help.
Then scroll down to select databases from the general list below or the choose a subject from the list of the right side.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Current events and issues organized by topic. Try using the "browse reports" feature to get your research started right.
Points of View This link opens in a new window
Concise reports on current events and controversial topics, primary sources, and articles. Use the "browse by category" feature to find information on today's important issues.
Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Search for encyclopedia entries on your topic! Includes a range of subjects and issues.
A great place to explore your topic or research the background of your issues. But remember - Wikipedia should help you to find better sources to cite, not be cited as a source itself.
Academic Search Ultimate
Full-text access to thousands of popular and scholarly sources. A "goto" database for any subject.
JSTOR Journal Archive
A full-text search engine for scholarly journals. Articles in JSTOR are always peer-reviewed, but may not include those published within the last 2 to 5 years.
Full text access to scholarly and peer reviewed articles.
US Newsstream searches current US news content, and archives back into the 1980s. Features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
US Major Daily Newspapers
Full-text of New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Christian Science Monitor, and Los Angeles Times from the mid 1980's - present.
Citing and Evaluating Sources
Citation Builder This link opens in a new window
Build a citation by selecting your publication type (article, book, etc.), your citation style (APA, MLA, etc.), and format (electronic, print); then provide the appropriate elements to complete building a citation.
NoodleTools Express This link opens in a new window
A free lightweight online citation generator. Enter the information about your source and create a citation for your bibliography in APA, MLA, or Chicago. Citations are not saved and cannot be exported to a word processor with the "Express" version of this tool. Full functionality requires a personal subscription.
zoterobib This link opens in a new window
ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.
McNairy Library • Millersville University • 9 North George St., Millersville, PA 17551 • (717) 871-7111 • Comments? Let us know!
© Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved. Millersville University is an Affirmative Action/ Equal Opportunity Institution. A Member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.