LibGuides: Social Work: SOWK403

Strategy #1: Search newspapers on your chosen social problems

To learn more about a social problem in your community, start with local news/media (e.g., LNP for Lancaster) and then, search national news (e.g., New York Times). A social problem like homelessness, for instance, is experienced and discussed in both local and national news outlets. To frame your chosen social problem, you will be gathering and combining information from both local and national sources.

Lancaster Newspapers ( various titles, includes Sat and Sun Editions, Jan 1, 1995 - Present ) This link opens in a new window
Searchable by newspaper title / time period of publication, six Lancaster County focused newspapers are available in full text.
New York Times ( 1980 - Present ) This link opens in a new window

Strategy #2: Search for policies, laws, statistics, and government initiatives related to the social problem you chose

Search both local (e.g., city, county) and state government sites for initiatives, reports, funding priorities to learn about a political climate. Search HeinOnline for policies and laws related to your social problem. To locate prevalence of your social problem, navigate to the Statistics & Data Guide and watch the video on strategies how to gather statistics.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Nearly 300,000 recent and historical and government documents; comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,900 law-related periodicals; the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, and U.S. Presidents.

Statistics & Data Guide

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
LOGIN with MILLERSVILLE UNIVERSITY should it ask (not the "of Pennsylvania" entry).

Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Easily create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

Strategy #3: Research needs and solutions for your chosen social problem

Library Search This link opens in a new window
Using Advanced Library Search, look for met and unmet needs related to social problems. E.g., homelessness as a social problem, can be broken down to a need for shelter, a need for employment, a need for mental health support. Also, look for evidence-based practices for social problems by adding search terms, like innovative programs or services or evidence-based practices.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage of sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, political science and related topics. Provides abstracts for 1,300+ "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, also provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing of books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included, and searchable cited references are provided.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text resource covers scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Includes the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals. Includes international English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—including all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage for criminology, criminal justice, corrections & prisons, criminal investigation, forensic sciences, subtance abuse & addition, probation & parole.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier research tool for psychology and related disciplines (education, sociology, nursing, etc.). Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.

Strategy #1: Search newspapers on your chosen social problems

Strategy #2: Search for policies, laws, statistics, and government initiatives related to the social problem you chose

Strategy #3: Research needs and solutions for your chosen social problem

Strategy #4: If you cannot find anything relevant for 20 min, ask a librarian