Skip to Main Content
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 countries and other world entities.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth, unbiased reports on today's current and controversial issues. Each lengthy report covers a single topic and includes summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Encyclopedia of Governance ( SRO ) This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Governance offers information on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of political science, public administration, political economy, and sociology.
Encyclopedia of Political Theory ( SRO ) This link opens in a new window
Examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times: the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have interested political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought.
Points of View This link opens in a new window
Contains essays that present multiple sides of current issues. The database covers 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and critical thinking guide. The database also indexes magazine and newspaper articles, radio and TV transcripts, and primary source documents related to each topic.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete covers global political topics with a worldwide focus including comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory. The database includes top-ranked scholarly journals plus reference books, monographs and conference papers, which includes those from the International Political Science Association.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a database of legal resources, including laws, regulations, some trial and court reports, treaties, monographs, law journals, and a variety of other materials dealing with United States and foreign law. The database covers private and public international law, intellectual property and legal history. Law journals and legal periodicals are available from the beginning issue of each periodical to the most current allowed under contract.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of full-text journal articles covering a broad range of topics including current events, government, politics, public policy and law as well as topics in areas such as science, social science, the humanities and many other fields.
Finding Current News Articles
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream searches current US news content, and archives back into the 1980s. Features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides full-text access to U.S. regional newspapers, TV and radio news transcripts, and selected international newspapers. Available publications include: USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Times (London) plus transcripts from CNN, National Public Radio, CBS News, Fox News, CNBC, etc.
US Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to the following nationally-oriented newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1996-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present).
Millersville University Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find print and electronic books, DVDs, videos, web sites, and more owned by the library.
EBSCOHost ebooks This link opens in a new window
700,000+ ebooks on all topics.
EBook Central This link opens in a new window
350,000 ebooks on all topics.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of dictionary and encyclopedia articles across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Access 16,000+ academic works from Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
Finding Government Information
GovInfo.gov This link opens in a new window
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Available publications include bills and statutes, congressional committee materials, executive, judicial, and legislative agency publications, and regulatory information.
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Congress.gov offers access to a wide range of legislative information on the U.S. Congress, including the full text of the Congressional Record and bills for the 93rd to the present Congress, House and Senate roll call votes, legislative action on Presidential nominations and treaties, committee reports, and days-in-session and House floor calendars. Classroom activities, lesson plans, and links to primary resources designed for use by teachers are also offered.
Catalog of US Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The Catalog includes descriptive records for historical and current publications issued by all branches of the federal government, including Congress, the Supreme Court, and executive branch departments. Many documents published in recent years are available in full-text through a direct link.
GovTrack.us This link opens in a new window
GovTrack.us tracks legislation and votes in the United States Congress and provides information on members of Congress, bills and resolutions, voting records and Congressional committees
US Presidential Library ( HeinOnline ) This link opens in a new window
The US Presidential Library brings together government documents and related materials on the US Presidency including the Compilation of messages and papers of the Presidents (1789-1929), Public papers of the Presidents (1931-), the Weekly compilation of presidential documents (1965-), the Daily compilation of presidential documents (2009-), the portion of the Code of Federal Regulations which relates to the presidency, and books by and about individual presidents or the presidency.
US Supreme Court Library ( HeinOnline ) This link opens in a new window
The US Supreme Court Library brings together government documents and related materials on the Supreme Court including the Supreme Court Reports, the Rules of the Supreme Court, Congressional Research Service analyses of court opinions, and books and periodicals dealing with the Court.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
American Community Survey This link opens in a new window
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services.
DataUSA This link opens in a new window
Data USA combines publicly accessible US government data from a variety of sources to create unique maps and visualizations which provide insight on critical public policy issues such as poverty, income, education, occupations, and public health.
Data.gov This link opens in a new window
The Data.gov catalog brings together datasets from hundreds of US agency sources across the US federal government and from 50 non-federal sources. This resource is a library of datasets that can be downloaded and manipulated. For access to statistical data in an end-user friendly format, see PolicyMap, the American Community Survey, or DataUSA.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Although no longer published, this was an indispensable reference for "statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included." Previous editions up to the final edition in 2012 are available. For more current information, please consult one of the other resources listed in this section.
Finding Public Opinion Research
Pew Global Attitudes Project - United States This link opens in a new window
The Pew Research Center’s Global Attitudes Project conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day.
Finding Historical Government Documents
Citation Style Guides
A free, online citation generator. Enter the information about your source and create a citation for your bibliography in APA, MLA, or Chicago.
McNairy Library • Millersville University • 9 North George St., Millersville, PA 17551 • (717) 871-7111 • Comments? Let us know!
© Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved. Millersville University is an Affirmative Action/ Equal Opportunity Institution. A Member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.