Home - ENGL 110 - English Composition - Gaudry - LibGuides at Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Evaluating Information

Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test
The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on your situation or need.

Regardless of where you are getting your information, you need to be aware of a few simple attributes about whatever information you are using.

When evaluating information, here are five helpful considerations:

Currency: timeliness of the information.

Relevance: importance of the information for your need.

Authority: source of the information.

Accuracy: reliability, truthfulness, correctness.

Purpose: reason that the information exists.

Thinking Critically About World Wide Web Resources

Recommended General Database

Use Academic Search Ultimate as a starting point for any kind of English 110 paper. The content is broad in scope and should be helpful if you are just starting your research.

Academic Search Ultimate
Full-text access to thousands of popular and scholarly sources. A "goto" database for any subject.

Recommended Databases for Argumentative Essays

Use these databases to find research about more standard controversial topics.

CQ Researcher
Provides in-depth, unbiased reports on today's current and controversial issues. Each lengthy report covers a single topic and includes summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Points of View
Points of View Reference Center offers a collection of essays designed to present multiple sides of a current issue. The database covers popular topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
US Major Daily Newspapers
US Major Daily Newspapers provides indexing to and the full text of the following nationally oriented newspapers:
Chicago Tribune ( Full Text: 1996 - Present; Citations/Abstracts: 1989 - Present )
Los Angeles Times ( 1985 - Present )
New York Times ( 1980 - Present )
Wall Street Journal ( 1984 - Present )
Washington Post ( 1987 - Present )

Subject Focused Research Databases

Communication Source (inclusive of Communication and Mass Media Complete)
Communication Source is the most comprehensive resource for communication research. Communication Source includes Communication and Mass Media Complete, Communication Abstracts (formerly published by Sage) and includes many unique sources in the field of communications. Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline. Indexing for most major journals is from the publication's first issue to the present.
Education Source
Full text resource covers scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Includes the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals. Includes international English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—including all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
PsycINFO
The premier research tool for psychology and related disciplines (education, sociology, nursing, etc.). Provides access to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and technical reports.
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus is an international database containing information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.

APA Citation Style and Grammar Guidelines

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
This easy to use site provides guidance for formatting citations in APA format and is managed by the American Psychological Association.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style ( APA Manual )
Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2020. 7th ed.
Written as a guide for contributors to A.P.A. journals, this is also useful to students who need to know recommended forms for presenting bibliographies, footnotes, tables, and figures.
Location: Reserve -- Permanent BF76.7 .P83x 2020 ( at Reserves behind circulation desk; 4 hour loan )
APA formatting and Style Guide : General Format ( OWL )
APA formatting : Reference List for ELECTRONIC Sources ( OWL )

MLA Citation Style

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
MLA handbook, Ninth edition, The Modern Language Association of America, 2021.
Contains guidelines for doing research, giving citations, and preparing bibliographies.
Location: Reserve - Permanent LB2369 .M52 2021 ( at Reserves behind circulation desk; 4 hour loan )

The MLA Style Center

MLA Formatting and Style Guide ( OWL at Purdue )

Subject Librarian

Scott Anderson

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library,
Lower Level 102A ( LL102A )

717-871-7030

Subjects: Accounting, Business Administration, Computer Science, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management, Marketing, Mathematics

Library Services

Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
We’re here to help - in person, email, IM/chat, phone, text & personal appointments.
Request It (EZBorrow) This link opens in a new window
Using EZB is the fastest way to get a book that Millersville does not have. Items usually arrive within four business days at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
Request It This link opens in a new window
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books, books, and conference proceedings. Look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to request items. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days; books and other physical items typically arrive in 5 business days.
Course Reserves This link opens in a new window
Access items for your course added by your instructor. Books and DVDs can be checked out at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
Journals by Name ( title search or browse by discipline ) This link opens in a new window

ENGL 110 - English Composition - Gaudry: Home