Home - BIOL 108H - Freshman Biology Seminar - LibGuides at Millersville University of Pennsylvania

If you already have a scientist in mind...

Start here

Finding Magazine & Newspaper Interviews

To find interviews with scientists, try the following sources.

Current Sources

Library Search This link opens in a new window
To find articles about your scientist: Search for your scientist's name in quotes. Search for the word: interview or bio or profile. Try limiting to Magazines.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
To find articles about your scientist: Try searching their name in quotes OR go to the Advanced Search option and search in the Person field.

Historical Newspapers

Newspapers and Magazines
by Melissa Gold Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 54 views this year

New York Times Index ( 1851 - 1980 ) This link opens in a new window
To identify a pre-1980 New York Times article and obtain it for FREE, please follow these steps:
1. Use the link above to go to the New York Times Index
2. Search for articles using the search box and filters
3. After identifying an article you want, complete the ARTICLE " Request It " form

Finding Scientists' Letters, Diaries, or Journals

EBSCOHost ebooks This link opens in a new window
For a specific scientist, try searching their name and (letters or correspondence or diaries) as a Subject Term. To browse, search for (letters or correspondence or diaries) as a Subject Term and narrow by Category.

Google

For a specific scientist, try googling their name AND any or all of the following terms: papers or digital collections or correspondence or archives or oral history.

Science Librarian

Melissa Gold

Contact:

Email: mgold@millersville.edu

Phone: 717-871-7124

Office: McNairy Library 205

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Geology, Meteorology, Nursing, Ocean Sciences & Coastal Studies, Physics

If you need to find a scientist...

Start here

Exploring Oral Histories & Digital Collections

To browse oral histories & digital collections of many scientists, try the following sources.

Scientists in Many Disciplines

Science History Institute - Digital Collections
Search letters and oral histories. Or, browse by topic or collection.
Library of Congress- Digital Collections
Search or browse hundreds of digital collections. Refine by topic: Science & Technology.

Scientists by Discipline

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Oral History Collection
Contains oral histories from 223 participants in postwar molecular biology, genetics, biotechnology, and medicine.
American Institute of Physics- Digital Collections and Oral Histories
Includes over 1,500 oral histories and digital collections with personal papers of a select number of scientists.
Smithsonian Libraries- History of Science and Technology Research Guide
Guide to many resources on the history of science. Broken down by subject and including many sites with scientists' personal papers.

Exploring Diverse Scientists (not just old/dead white men)

Browse the following sites that provide diverse profiles or lists of scientists. To find more information about a selected scientist search in the Library Databases (using the tips on the left) or in Google.

I AM A SCIENTIST
Profiles and stories of real world researchers to break the stereotype of the "typical" scientist.
If/Then Collection
Search a collection of profiles on women scientists. Ambassador Profiles and Videos will be most useful.
500 Queer Scientists
A visibility campaign for LGBTQ+ people and their allies working in STEM and STEM-supporting jobs with self-supplied short bios.
Celebrating Scientists with Disabilities
From the Royal Society, short descriptions/interviews with scientists about their research including historical figures and contemporary scientists.
Scientist Spotlight Initiative
Over 400 scientist "spotllghts" that include short bios and links to scientists' research. The site hopes to make the sciences more inclusive and more representative of our own wonderful diverse communities. You do have to sign up for a free account.

Lists of Scientists

There are many more to be found by googling- lists of women scientists, lists of black scientists, etc.

Black chemists you should know about- from Chemical & Engineering News
Includes mostly notable scientists in history.
1,000 inspiring Black scientists in America
List of contemporary scientists from Cell Mentor and Cell Press- the publisher of various academic journals.
Blind STEM Professionals- from the National Federation of the Blind
100 inspiring Hispanic/Latinx scientists in America
List of contemporary scientists from Cell Mentor and Cell Press- the publisher of various academic journals.

APA Citation Style and Grammar Guidelines

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style ( APA Manual ) This link opens in a new window
Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2020. 7th ed.
Written as a guide for contributors to A.P.A. journals, this is also useful to students who need to know recommended forms for presenting bibliographies, footnotes, tables, and figures.
Location: Reserve -- Permanent BF76.7 .P83x 2020 ( at Reserves behind circulation desk; 4 hour loan )
APA formatting and Style Guide : General Format ( OWL ) This link opens in a new window
APA formatting and Style Guide for ARTICLES ( OWL ) This link opens in a new window
APA formatting : Reference List Basics ( OWL - 3 min VIDEO ) This link opens in a new window
APA formatting : Reference List for ELECTRONIC Sources ( OWL ) This link opens in a new window

Tutorial: APA Citations 7th Edition

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines This link opens in a new window
APA Style provides a foundation for effective scholarly communication because it helps writers present their ideas in a clear, concise, and inclusive manner.

Library Services

Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
We’re here to help - in person, email, IM/chat, phone, text & personal appointments.
Request It (E-ZBorrow) This link opens in a new window
Using EZB is the fastest way to get a book that Millersville does not have. Items usually arrive within four business days at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
Request It This link opens in a new window
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books, books, and conference proceedings. Look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to request items. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days; books and other physical items typically arrive in 5 business days.
Course Reserves This link opens in a new window
Access items for your course added by your instructor. Books and DVDs can be checked out at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library. Get login help for course reserves.
Journals by Name ( title search or browse by discipline ) This link opens in a new window

BIOL 108H - Freshman Biology Seminar: Home

Finding Primary Sources Featuring Scientists

If you already have a scientist in mind...

Start here

Finding Magazine & Newspaper Interviews

Current Sources

Historical Newspapers

Finding Scientists' Letters, Diaries, or Journals

Science Librarian

If you need to find a scientist...

Start here

Exploring Oral Histories & Digital Collections

Scientists in Many Disciplines

Scientists by Discipline

Exploring Diverse Scientists (not just old/dead white men)

Lists of Scientists

APA Citation Style and Grammar Guidelines

Library Services