Home - MATH 107 - Survey of Mathematics Ideas in Sports and Games - LibGuides at Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Course Texts & Tools

How to Free your Inner Mathematician: Notes on Mathematics and Life
S.D'Agostino [2020], Oxford University Press
Mathletics: How Gamblers, Managers, and Sports Enthusiasts use Mathematics in Basketball, Baseball, and Football
Winston, W. [2009] Princeton University Press
Mathematics and Sports
Gallian, J. [2010], American Mathematical Society
Millennium Mathematics Project
Mathematics and Sports WebQuests
Scientific Calculator

Survey Articles about Math and Sports

Getting Started

These resources are intended to get you started with general overviews. Entries are frequently by named authors and typically include citations for additional works (articles, books, chapters, etc.) on a given topic.

MathWorld This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers.

Library Search ( nearly everything )

Mathematical Research

Research Tip:

Check the references in your textbook and/or any articles or publications that are exceptionally "on point" for your topic. A major aspect of citing resources and providing attribution is to facilitate future research by those that utilize research that has already been performed.

MathSciNet (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet offers access to a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is an international database containing information on the following: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of popular and scholarly sources. A "goto" database for any subject.

APA Citation Style and Grammar Guidelines

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style ( APA Manual ) This link opens in a new window
Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2020. 7th ed.
Written as a guide for contributors to A.P.A. journals, this is also useful to students who need to know recommended forms for presenting bibliographies, footnotes, tables, and figures.
Location: Reserve -- Permanent BF76.7 .P83x 2020 ( at Reserves behind circulation desk; 4 hour loan )
APA formatting and Style Guide : General Format ( OWL ) This link opens in a new window
APA formatting and Style Guide for ARTICLES ( OWL ) This link opens in a new window
APA formatting : Reference List Basics ( OWL - 3 min VIDEO ) This link opens in a new window
APA formatting : Reference List for ELECTRONIC Sources ( OWL ) This link opens in a new window

Tutorial: APA Citations 7th Edition

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines This link opens in a new window
APA Style provides a foundation for effective scholarly communication because it helps writers present their ideas in a clear, concise, and inclusive manner.

MLA Citation Style

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers This link opens in a new window
MLA handbook, Ninth edition, The Modern Language Association of America, 2021.
Contains guidelines for doing research, giving citations, and preparing bibliographies.
Location: Reserve - Permanent LB2369 .M52 2021 ( at Reserves behind circulation desk; 4 hour loan )

The MLA Style Center

MLA Formatting and Style Guide ( OWL at Purdue ) This link opens in a new window

Subject Librarian

Scott Anderson

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library,
Lower Level 102A ( LL102A )

717-871-7030

Subjects: Accounting, Business Administration, Computer Science, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management, Marketing, Mathematics

Library Services

Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
We’re here to help - in person, email, IM/chat, phone, text & personal appointments.
Request It (E-ZBorrow) This link opens in a new window
Using EZB is the fastest way to get a book that Millersville does not have. Items usually arrive within four business days at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
Request It This link opens in a new window
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books, books, and conference proceedings. Look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to request items. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days; books and other physical items typically arrive in 5 business days.
Course Reserves This link opens in a new window
Access items for your course added by your instructor. Books and DVDs can be checked out at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library. Get login help for course reserves.
Journals by Name ( title search or browse by discipline ) This link opens in a new window

MATH 107 - Survey of Mathematics Ideas in Sports and Games : Home