Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended General Databases
Use these databases as a starting point for any kind of English 110 paper. Their holdings are broad. Academic Search Ultimate is particularly helpful when you are just starting off with a topic.
Academic Search Ultimate (previously Complete)
Full-text access to thousands of popular and scholarly sources. A "goto" database for any subject.
JSTOR Journal Archive
A full-text archive of over 1,000 of the best scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, mathematics, life sciences, etc. Full-text is available from the first issue, but does not include the most recent 2-5 years.
Recommended Databases for Argumentative Essays
Use these databases to find research about more standard controversial topics.
Get in-depth, non-biased reports on today's important issues. Each lengthy report covers a single topic, and includes a bibliography.
Points of View
Contains materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the political aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
US Major Daily Newspapers
US Major Daily Newspapers provides indexing to and the full text of the following nationally oriented newspapers:
Chicago Tribune ( Full Text: 1996 - Present; Citations/Abstracts: 1989 - Present )
Los Angeles Times ( 1985 - Present )
New York Times ( 1980 - Present )
Wall Street Journal ( 1984 - Present )
Washington Post ( 1987 - Present )
Recommended Databases for Literary Analysis
Use these databases to research writers and find literary criticism about their work.
Literary Reference Center
This comprehensive full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Content includes plot summaries, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, author interviews/biographies and thousands of classic novels.
MLA International Bibliography
The premier index covering literature, literary theory & criticism, languages & linguistics, dramatic arts, and folklore from thousands of journals and series published worldwide.
Getting citations right
Use these websites to help accurately model citations for different sources. Please keep in mind that APA has updated to the 7th edition and that many websites still provide examples in 6th edition style. Please check with your professor about citation requirements.
Learning Design Librarian
McNairy Library • Millersville University • 9 North George St., Millersville, PA 17551 • (717) 871-7111 • Comments? Let us know!
© Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved. Millersville University is an Affirmative Action/ Equal Opportunity Institution. A Member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education.