Home - EDFN 604 - Education and Public Policy - LibGuides at Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Background Information on Policy and Problems in Education

Below are links to resources that will help you to identify topics in education policy, understand the history and context of the problems presented, and give you some citations to sources. CQ Researcher can be searched by individual topics, but it is probably best to browse the entire database under the heading for Education to find the issues that focused on topics in education.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Get in-depth, non-biased reports on today's important issues. Each lengthy report covers a single topic, and includes a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Foundations of Education ( SRO ) This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia covers all aspects of education policy, law, philosophy, and history. It will be a good source to help understand the context and meaning of an issue in our culture and society.
Encyclopedia of African American Education ( SRO ) This link opens in a new window
If you are researching a topic in education policy that relates to the experiences of African Americans in particular (ie., segregation, racism, etc.) this would be a good source to get some background information.

Finding Articles from Published Journals

The following links will open databases that Millersville University Library subscribes to. Each database contains some unique content, but there will also be some overlap. The Education Research Complete and ERIC databases allow you to search across scholarly journals and trade magazines specific to the discipline of Education. The Academic Search Complete database allows you to search across journals and magazines from a broad spectrum of discipline-specific and general interest literature. It would be a good place to look for articles from news publication, journals in fields such as history, sociology, law, and government studies that may cover education policy topics from a different perspective.

VIDEO: Organizing your searches, retrieving full text
This short video will explain how to use the "folders" function to organize your searches and how to retrieve the full text of articles that aren't available through our databases.
more...less...
Student Learning Outcomes
Students will be able to:
Recognize ways to organize their searches for easier retrieval of preferred sources
Successfully use the Library services to retrieve articles that are not available in full text through our databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text resource covers scholarly research and information for education students, professionals and policy makers. Includes the largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals. Includes international English-language periodicals, monographs, yearbooks and more. Covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—including all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC ( Education Resources Information Center ) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index; journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference reports, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of popular and scholarly sources. A "goto" database for any subject.

Finding articles in indvidual journals and websites

Education Week
A weekly newspaper devoted to education. Articles, profiles, commentary, legislation, state and national news and book reviews for teachers and administrators in elementary and secondary schools.

There are some important and useful publications that are not represented fully in our aggregate databases like Education Research Complete, etc., so I need to provide a separate link to them.

Educational Policy
Educational Policy (EPX) focuses on the practical consequences of educational policy decisions and alternatives. It examines the relationship between educational policy and educational practice, and sheds new light on important debates and controversies within the field.Educational Policy blends the best of educational research with the world of practice, making it a valuable resource for educators, policy makers, administrators, researchers, teachers, and graduate students.
Rethinking Schools
Throughout its history, Rethinking Schools has tried to balance classroom practice and educational theory. It is an activist publication, with articles written by and for teachers, parents, and students. Yet it also addresses key policy issues, such as vouchers and marketplace-oriented reforms, funding equity, and school-to-work.

Subject Librarian

Stephanie Thompson

Email Me

Contact:

McNairy 304

717-871-7122

Subjects: Children's Literature, Education, Educational Foundations, Elementary Education, Special Education, Sport Sciences, Wellness

Library Services

Ask a Librarian This link opens in a new window
We’re here to help - in person, email, IM/chat, phone, text & personal appointments.
Request It (E-ZBorrow) This link opens in a new window
Using EZB is the fastest way to get a book that Millersville does not have. Items usually arrive within four business days at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library.
Request It This link opens in a new window
Request full-text articles, chapters/sections of books, books, and conference proceedings. Look for the green squirrel when you're in a library database to request items. Articles usually arrive within 2 business days; books and other physical items typically arrive in 5 business days.
Course Reserves This link opens in a new window
Access items for your course added by your instructor. Books and DVDs can be checked out at the library circulation desk in McNairy Library. Get login help for course reserves.
Journals by Name ( title search or browse by discipline ) This link opens in a new window

EDFN 604 - Education and Public Policy: Home

Background Information on Policy and Problems in Education

Finding Articles from Published Journals

Finding articles in indvidual journals and websites

Subject Librarian

Library Services